Moving forward. ..

After ten years as an early childhood teacher, this year I am embarking on an exciting adventure. .. primary school teaching!  Year Ones to be specific, 5 and 6 year olds.  My first day is rapidly approaching and I am working hard to keep my cool.  Primary teaching seems like a completely different world with its own language and rituals, all of which I have to learn.  This year I am not in a leadership position but will be taking on the role of learner alongside my class.  I would be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit scared but I also feel a gritty determination to get amongst it and start working towards mastry in this new domain.  I can do it.  

I have so many ideas I want to incorporate.  I want to sing everyday and meditate with the children.  I want to find out what power sharing could look like in a year one classroom, but most of all I want to share my own personal love of learning with my class and hopefully give them a chance to experience some of the joy and the exhilaration that comes from taking on a challenge.  I have a fantastic team around me who have been so generous with their time and knowledge, helping me to feel ready for day 1 next Tuesday.  

I am reading everything I can get my hands on about implimenting Carol Dwek’s growth mindset in the classroom and also Guy Claxton’s Building Learning Power.  I can’t wait to get started so I can see for myself how these ideas play out in the classroom.  Only time will tell.  In the meantime I still have some finishing touches to do on my week 1 plan and a bit of wonder and magic to add to my classroom learning environment.  The children will show up with who knows what expectations on Tuesday morning and I will be there to meet them.  Wish me luck! 

What do you think?

