It begins…

11751875_10152959308609080_6764388911707870406_n

So, I have been thinking a lot lately about my next steps in education.  I really do want to work towards my PhD, but what should my next steps be?  What subject do I want to become an expert on to the point where breakfast tv news programs invite me to comment?  Well after a lot of soul searching I have settled on the rather huge topic of neuroplasticity.  I love it!  I love how the brain can change and grow and heal itself.  It just gives me hope that anything is possible.  We can all do anything we want if we are willing to give it the focused attention required, at least once we understand the power of neuroplasticity that is…

I learned a lot by going through the process of getting my Masters Degree and I am a lot wiser this time around.  Instead of going in naively and expecting my supervisor to tell me what to do and how to do it I am going to come in prepared.  I am going to know my topic inside and out and choose a supervisor who I believe can support me.  I have no idea who that might be or even what university I might go through, but that doesn’t matter yet.  The first step is to get reading and start developing my own understandings of neuroplasticity.  So, the plan is to start, reading by reading, and to analyse and share what I discover here on my blog.  It could be awesome.  I can’t wait to share it all with you and hopefully hear what you think about all this as well.  That would be double awesome.  I have my first reading all ready to go so stay tuned!

*image credit / Dallas Clayton

4 thoughts on “It begins…

  1. Congratulations on deciding to study neuroplasticity. It’s a great topic. Now you just need to refine it with a specific question.
    I really enjoyed reading “The Brain that Changes Itself” by Norman Doidge and “The Woman who Changed her Brain” by Barbara Arrowsmith-Young. Hers is a fabulous inspiring story. While they are not academic books on the topic, if you haven’t read them yet, I recommend them Fascinating.

    • Thanks, Norah! I have listened to “The brain that changes itself” as an audio book and it was amazing. I will see if I can get a copy of the other book too. It is great to have good recomendations. 🙂

      • I’m so pleased the book is available on audio. I am an audiobook fan. I love listening to them, especially when read by the author. Does Norman Doidge read “The Brain”?

      • Hey Norah, I just checked and no, it’s narrated by Jim Bond. I got it on the Audible app (part of Amazon). There are heaps of amazing books there. It is fantastic for those of us who commute. 🙂

What do you think?

