Thought for the day… Don’t feel like it? Do it anyway!

Hip hip hooray! It’s school holiday time!  Which means, time for all those wonderful things we all would be doing if only we had the time.  You know, art, music, writing, working out, (insert your secret passion here).   So, today I wrote myself a big list of all the cool things I wanted to do with my day.  I am at the beginning of a daily yoga challenge so that was on the list and I am desperate to get started on a new lino cut, so that was on the list too along with a heap of other things I love to do.  Sounds like the perfect day right?  Not so much.  It turned out that when the time came to get started on my art or my music or even this blog post, I just didn’t feel like it.  I didn’t feel inspired, or motivated, or anything.  In fact I felt a bit blah.  It was at this point that the thoughts from two books entered my mind and told me to get over myself.  The first idea is one of Gretchen Rubin (Happiness Project), and it is something along the lines of, you can do anything for 5 minutes.  Just get started, set a timer for 5 minutes and see what happens from there.  For me, committing myself for such a small amount of time helps me to get over the biggest hurdle of all… starting.  Once the timer goes off, I normally finish the job anyway (even if takes a bit more time).  Definitely worth a try if you are in a blub blub mood.

The second thought came from an audiobook I listened to recently Leap First by Seth Godin.  In his book Seth talks about the difference between being a passionate ammature and a professional.  Amateurs create when they feel like it, when they feel inspired, whereas professionals just do it, inspiration / motivation or not.  I am building artist, writer, musician into my identity and for that to be true I need to be creating, writing and playing music (it makes sense right?).

So that is my thought for the day.  The first of the holiday season.  I wonder how you are making the most of your Xmas break?  What secret passions are you bringing out into the light?  How do you get past your blah blah moods in order to get the job done?  Please share your strategies below so we can all add a few more tools to our tool belts.

What do you think?

