Review: My personal experience of Xbox One Fitness

Xbox Fitness

So, the Xbox One came out last November and since then I have been working hard using its Xbox Fitness.  It’s release was great timing for me as I had just got back into using the Xbox 360 Kinect for exercise, so I was more than willing to try working out on the Xbox One.

My first impressions were not positive.  I had been using Your Shape Fitness Evolved and was really enjoying the slow pace and logical layout.  I knew what I had to do to achieve my goal, which the game even helped me set.  However with the Xbox One I was confronted with what seemed like a never ending library of workout DVD’s.  I had no clue about which workout would suit me best or how to put together a comprehensive program to achieve my goals.  On that first day I tried a free (once I signed up for Xbox live gold) sampler of three different workouts.  It was insane, crazy fast paced and overwhelming.  I walked away dissatisfied and not sure what my next move would be.

I talked it through with my husband (who loves Xbox) and agreed to give it another shot. He suggested if I actually bought a workout from the Fitness Library maybe that would suit me better.  I choose Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 workout which comprises of four weekly workouts that I am pretty sure you are supposed to do everyday.  That’s how I interpreted it anyway.  So I started with week one.  It was difficult and very fast, no time to catch your breath or have a sip of water.  Luckily for me, streaming the workout put stress on our internet connection (I am not a technical person and have no real idea why) and my workout cut out many many times allowing me time to breath and drink water and adjust my workout mat etc.  I felt great after every workout and now I am hooked.  I love Xbox too.

The Xbox One has some awesome features to keep you informed while you are working out.  You can see what muscles you are using and adjust your body position to activate the correct ones for the exercise.  You get points if you are doing it right and there is an easy version for those of us just starting out.  The Xbox One even measures your heart rate every now and again.  I think it needs you to be still for this to happen cause it only takes my heart rate while I am stretching at the end or when I am holding a position.

My biggest frustration came in week two of using it.  It kept telling me I didn’t have enough bandwidth (what?) so I kept telling it to retry ( I am very stubborn).  Eventually I struggled my way through the workout and our whole family decided to go offline whenever I did a workout to see if that helped (It didn’t).  Week two was my favorite work out but connection problems spoilt it.  Since then this problem seems to have solved itself and it is very rare for me to have connection problems.  I kind of miss it as now I have to do the whole workout in one hit without any water or breathing breaks.  Luckily I am fitter now and no longer need them.  I tried to me zen about it as Xbox One is very new and there were bound to be teething problems.

So now I have completed the whole four weeks of ripped in 30.  I am pleased with the results and can honestly say I am more ripped then I was before.  Now I am going back through all the workouts to finish all the achievements.  I think that speaks volumes for how much I enjoyed Jillian’s workouts.  However for a person motivated by points and achievement like me, the most evil part of the Xbox One is when you are working very hard doing the exact right thing and it doesn’t recognise it (this happens once or twice every couple of workouts).  The Xbox can see you and you can see the Xbox seeing you but no points.  I am really into the points and achievements part of the game so no points is horrible, especially since I know I am doing it well.  That is when I pull out my strong language.  I try and be cool about it and tell myself that my body is not fooled.  It knows I did the exercise so who cares what the Xbox One thinks, but I really like getting high scores and acing workouts.

In summary.  I found Xbox One Fitness really hard to break into, too much choice and no way for me, a beginner, to make informed choices about what workout to do.  I took a gamble on Jillian based on the fact I had seen her on TV and it paid off.  I love my Jillian work outs.  The Xbox itself is awesome and I love the little extras like heart rate monitor, but they are in no way perfect and watch out if your floor is not perfectly level as this will cause you problems.  I also wish you could just download the workouts instead of streaming them but like I said before all the connection issues seem to of disappeared so I am going to try to forgive and forget.  All in all, I am very happy with Xbox fitness and will keep using it daily for a long time to come.  I am glad I stuck with it through the early frustrations as it was completely worth it.

7 thoughts on “Review: My personal experience of Xbox One Fitness

  1. So awesome to hear you’re doing more regular workouts now,Jess! Anything that keeps you moving is great. A bonus if you love it too 🙂

  2. Thanks this was great to read! I live in Akl also. Yesterday I did day one of Ripped in 30 on xbox one, and today I’m soooo sore! Haha. Just wondering though, with the membership do we only have access to the first week?

    • Yes. I think they call it a free workout and then you pay for the rest. I just didn’t like the look of all the free 10min workout and since I didn’t know what I was doing (still don’t) I wanted a plan. Personally, I think it is worth the money. I have just bought my 2nd Jullian workout – killer buns and thighs and just the change in workout makes me feel like a beginner all over again. If you push through the aches and pains it get easier in the end and you feel awesome!

      • Ohhh I see, hmm I may have to follow your lead then haha. I like Jillian’s workouts cause they’re simple (and I also don’t know what I’m doing haha).
        One more question… Did you do them every day? Because I read somewhere that they weren’t intended that way, but I see a lot of people do it anyway…
        Thanks 🙂

      • Yes and no. I try to, but it tends to work out more like 6 days a week, sometimes 5. I wanted to know for sure if I should do it everyday but couldn’t find any info so I just made a decision for myself. I figured ripped in 30 meant 30 days, 30 mins per workout, 30 secs per exercise. It also got confusing if I tried to tell myself every 2nd day or 3 times a week. If I aimed for every night as part of my routine, I just did it without thinking about it where as if I had to decide, is tonight an exercise night? Maybe the answer would have been no a lot more often. I have really enjoyed your comments. Let me know if you want to be Xbox fitness friends (I don’t know how to do that but I am sure it is figure-out-able).

      • Haha yeah I have a tendency to talk myself out of it if it’s planned or if other things come up… Oh thanks! Yup I’d love to add you. I’m using my bf’s xbox account, partly because I don’t know how to make another one, and partly because he gets all the points from the achievements I get haha. I’ll ask him how to do it and I’ll let you know 🙂

What do you think?

