Provocation Twelve

20130917-202737.jpg
Today is another double whammy. Sometimes when I reset our classroom at the end of the day, one provocation just isn’t enough! Today I set up clay with a range of natural and recycled materials for the children to use as tools for impressions and mark making. It looked cool to me, so I gave it a go as a bit a suggestion, to show the children what could be possible with the materials on offer.

20130917-203124.jpg
It was very interesting and a bit surprising to see what object made what mark. Having done my own impressions I thought a magnifying glass could be used to take a closer look at the impressions and so I added this to the provocation. After all, children can’t use what isn’t there. Here is a closer look at the recycled and natural materials on offer for the children to use.

20130917-204405.jpg
I can’t wait to see what the children will do with this tomorrow morning! We are lucky enough to have access to a kiln so perhaps some of the children’s work could be fired as an artifact of their creative explorations?

20130917-204655.jpg
My second provocation revisits Provocation Eight. Some work has been done on the collage between then and now, including the addition of more paint and some natural materials.

20130917-205140.jpg
This time I have presented a range of different materials (yarn, felt, foil and translucent paper) in primary colours for the children to explore. I think this will really add some depth to the collage and prepare the work for the addition of some other mediums, maybe pastel? Yet again I will have to see what the children make of it when I arrive in the classroom tomorrow morning. Until then I would love to hear any of your thoughts, ideas or questions in the comments section below. Thanks!

What do you think?

